AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Apple announced a home-security range developed with LG, including a smart lock and four cameras, as part of a broader push into connected-home products. The devices are designed to work with Apple Home, but subscription pricing, local video-storage capacity and details of face recognition remain unclear.

Apple announced a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG at its Tuesday “Welcome Home” event, extending the company’s smart-home offering into home security. The products are designed to work with Apple Home, while the lock also supports Matter and Aliro; pricing for the cameras’ required iCloud Plus service and some storage details have not been disclosed, leaving key details for shoppers to consider alongside smart home security systems.

The announced range includes an LG- and Apple-branded smart lock priced at $349.95. It has a circular keypad that the source report says appears to twist for manual unlocking. Apple has not provided many details about its functions, but the product is expected to support Apple Home Keys and related auto-unlocking. It also supports Matter, which can allow compatibility with Amazon Alexa and Google Home, and Aliro, a standard intended to support digital-wallet access, as part of the broader Apple and LG smart-home lineup. The lock is designed to work with the new video doorbell.

The four cameras all offer 2.5K resolution, according to the report. They are a video doorbell priced at $249.95, a wired floodlight camera at $399.95, an indoor camera at $199.95 and an outdoor camera at $299.95. The doorbell uses two cameras to capture both a wider view and a closer look at the porch. Apple says the indoor camera can tilt when someone looks through it and lower itself when residents return home, a movement intended to signal privacy.

Apple says the cameras can identify people, pets, vehicles, packages and familiar faces. Users will be able to view footage through Apple devices, including iPhones, Apple TVs and the new HomeView display. The company says Siri AI can describe video and answer questions about recordings. The report says an iCloud Plus plan is required for features that include 10 days of video storage; Apple has not announced the plan’s cost or explained how much local storage is available if cloud storage is unavailable.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced Tuesday; release timing not s…
The developmentAt its Tuesday “Welcome Home” event, Apple introduced an LG partnership covering a smart lock and four security cameras, extending its smart-home lineup into home security.

Apple Expands Into Home Security

The announcement moves Apple beyond a limited set of smart-home partnerships and into products that compete directly with established security-camera and smart-lock brands. A connected lineup could appeal to customers who already use Apple devices and want to manage security through the Home app. The lock’s support for Matter and Aliro also points to potential use beyond Apple’s own ecosystem, though the source report does not establish how well those integrations will work in practice.

The range also puts questions about recurring costs, cloud storage and privacy at the center of the launch. Buyers cannot yet compare the full cost of the cameras without knowing the iCloud Plus pricing and service requirements. Face recognition may make alerts more specific, but it involves identifying people who may not have chosen to use the system. That makes Apple’s privacy safeguards and local-processing claims relevant to both customers and people captured by the cameras.

Amazon

Apple LG smart lock

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Home Displays to Cameras

The source report describes Apple as having taken a cautious approach to smart-home hardware in prior years, with smaller partnerships that included the LG Circle security camera. The Tuesday event represents a broader step: rather than one camera, Apple and LG introduced a group of cameras and a compatible smart lock alongside the HomeView display.

Apple’s hardware engineering vice president, Matthew Costello, said the company worked with LG Electronics and Schneider Electric on accessories designed for Apple Home. The source identifies LG as the partner on the lock and camera lineup. The products’ announcement does not, by itself, establish when they will ship or how they will perform once available to customers.

““Apple Home Collection makes it easy to choose smart home accessories with confidence.””

— Matthew Costello, Apple vice president of hardware engineering

Service Costs and Privacy Details

Apple has not disclosed the iCloud Plus cost associated with camera features or explained how much video can be stored locally when cloud service is unavailable. It is also not clear when the products will go on sale, which markets will receive them first, or whether all announced functions will be available at launch.

Privacy details need further explanation. Apple says Home app data is end-to-end encrypted and that footage is processed locally on an Apple Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute, while also being stored in iCloud. The source report does not spell out how those processes apply to familiar-face recognition, how long face data is retained, or what controls users and people recorded will have. The report also notes that facial-recognition rules vary by place and cites legal disputes involving competing services; it does not establish the rules that will apply to these products in every market.

Launch and Feature Details Awaited

The next details to watch for are availability dates, iCloud Plus pricing and storage limits, along with a fuller explanation of camera and face-recognition controls. Those disclosures will help customers judge the total cost and decide whether the privacy settings meet their needs.

Independent testing will also be needed to assess setup, image quality, reliability, cross-platform compatibility and the usefulness of Siri’s video descriptions. Until those details and tests are available, the announcement confirms the product lineup and listed hardware prices, but not how the system will work in everyday use.

Key Questions

What did Apple announce?

Apple announced a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG, as part of its wider smart-home lineup. The products are designed to work with Apple Home.

How much do the announced products cost?

The listed prices are $349.95 for the lock, $249.95 for the video doorbell, $399.95 for the wired floodlight camera, $199.95 for the indoor camera and $299.95 for the outdoor camera. The source report does not give release dates.

Will the lock work with systems beyond Apple Home?

The lock supports Matter, which can enable compatibility with Alexa and Google Home, and Aliro, which is intended to support digital-wallet access. The announcement details in the source do not specify every supported device or wallet.

What is known about camera storage and subscription costs?

The source report says an iCloud Plus plan is required and includes 10 days of video storage. Apple has not disclosed the relevant plan cost or the cameras’ local-storage capacity.

What privacy questions remain?

Apple says Home app data is end-to-end encrypted and describes local processing on an Apple Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute. Details about face-data retention, user controls and how the system handles people who have not opted in remain unclear in the source material.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

From Your Store To Their Door: Busy Beaver Embraces Delivery To Deliver On Convenience

Busy Beaver has used Nash since January 2026 to coordinate delivery across its 19 stores in Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Ohio.

Best Milwaukee Power Tools for Electricians (2026) — Guide 2

Discover the top Milwaukee power tools for electricians in 2026. Our expert roundup highlights the best drills, impact drivers, and combo kits for professionals.

Centre Unveils Delhi Master Plan 2047 To Transform National Capital Into World-class City For 3.2 Crore People – News On AIR

The central government has announced the Delhi Master Plan 2047, aiming to transform the capital into a world-class city for 3.2 crore residents by 2047.

A Year In, Ace Hardware’s RedVest Media Expands Its Reach

Ace Hardware says its year-old RedVest Media network has influenced more than $100 million in retail sales, with over 100 vendors participating.